Robot Not a Dev? Pre-order Now
Not a Dev?

Misty Community Forum

Should the Community Web Site Design/Funcitionality Be a First Level Subject

Hi,

This is my first try at posting. I have no idea how others will view it … and no certainty it’s an appropriate comment for this section … but Time will tell. Always does. So here goes.

It seems to me that a universal problem with “communities” dedicated to complex subjects, like Wildfly, Oracal’s docs for enterprise level Java, et. al., is that they begin as, and remain, the exclusive playground of people who are already very familiar with, if not have advanced knowledge about, the subject.

And, those who could best help add new members to the community seldom remember their own first steps. And that often means they begin their “answers” at a level the beginner, who is still struggling with simple starting details, hasn’t reached yet. (If the grey beards aren’t obviously offended that someone who didn’t know the answer dared ask questions “everyone” is supposed to know already – I guess from birth?.)

Therefore, I write as a Robotics virgin (although not without other skills from enterprise Java to JavaScript that’s rapidly replacing it.) to suggest a new first level topic dedicated to how the community web site should be designed and work … With the goal of building an ever growing community … not just serving the existing one.

So for what it’s worth, here is a first question … or maybe plea. What about a first level topic dedicated to the design and functionality of the community forum
– dedicated to recording the path of new beginners
– by those still in the process of progressing to the point they too forget how they came to know so much?