Robot Not a Dev? Pre-order Now
Not a Dev?

Q. User Experience Researchers/Designers at Misty?

In general, are there User Experience Researchers/Designers at Misty? What are some of the things you looked into? (Or would want to be looked into?)

Someone to design and evaluate the usability of the companion app interface? Or to research what emotions humans are able to understand from those expressive eyes? It came be both fun and informative! I asked my coworkers about their understandings to some of the faces and got some fun responses, especially from the groggy one! Anyone else have similar thoughts or experiences?

I’m a UX researcher/designer at heart so I had to ask…

Hi Wendy, we have a product team with industrial designers and prototype engineers who design and iterate the art perspective of how Misty looks, and a human computer interaction teams led by HCI engineers and researchers to develop skills on Misty to make it better interact with humans in a lively way. Feel free to put comments here about the feedbacks that you have and from your coworkers, we would like to see how people think of Misty’s ability to be emotionally interacting with people and how we could improve Misty:)

That’s good to hear.
I can dig into our slack conversations more, but few people seemed to understand that the “happy.png” was meant for happy and were unclear about the groggy purpose. Of course, this feedback is provided on eyes that are seen out of context and even if they eyes are initially confusing they still could be easily learn-able.

Hi Wendy,

Having universally understood ‘expressions’ is actually a fascinating area of research. The nuance between ‘happy’, ‘elated’, ‘content’, or other broadly positive emotions are pretty fluid between users without context. I would highly encourage anyone/everyone with an interest to dig into expressivity in robots and how it is interpreted by humans!