Robot Not a Dev? Pre-order Now
Not a Dev?

Nontraditional Network/Wifi ideas?

We know Misty and the companion app doesn’t work in wifi networks that 1) don’t have passwords and 2) it also doesn’t support the ability to connect to wifi that needs another layer of authentication, for example, wifi at most university or office space networks, and (I’m guessing) public hotspots like at a coffee shops or airports.

I feel pretty tethered to my lab space where we have a local lab network but I’d like to be able to demo Misty in other conference rooms or even use it outside. Eventually, we want to implement for HRI research which, in our case, possibly involves bringing it to other schools or public spaces. We can’t do that now with this setup.

Any suggestions for work around?
It seems like a hot spot off my personal cell phone data would work (?) but that’s costly on the cell data side. I’m not a network expert, so what are other people doing? Any suggestion to try?

Does Misty actually need internet? I’m assuming I could make a hotspot for the companion app on a tablet and Misty with my laptop that is connected onto wifi, correct?
But if my laptop doesn’t have internet, would the “hotspot” still work to connect the app and Misty?

Is there a way to make that laptop into a network…? Server or LAN…?

Thanks!

The robot does not need internet access. You can use a standalone router not connected to the internet to which you connect your laptop and Misty.

And if I don’t have a router?

The simplest is to put your phone in airplane mode, then enable WiFi and do a hotspot. This way you don’t use any mobile data.

You can also turn your laptop into a hotspot. Depends on your OS. Here is an article for a Windows PC:

Hi @WendyXu! Would you feel comfortable sharing more about your system configuration? E.g. Mac, Windows, Linux…?