Robot Not a Dev? Pre-order Now
Not a Dev?

Misty Community Forum

Just introducing myself

To be honest, I thought I had joined this community five or six months ago, but my e-mail didn’t seem to be registered, and searches for my usual discussion topics didn’t turn up. So apologies if any of this sounds familiar.

I have loved and been fascinated by robots since I was a kid 50 years ago. Not sure why, maybe because I’ve always loved “inventing”, and I was pretty shy so the thought of having or building a loyal robot “friend” really appealed to me. :slight_smile:

I’ve been a professional video game designer for over 37 years. I started out on the C-64 and the Amiga, and now I am Head of Design for a mobile game company in Berlin, Germany. (I am from Wyoming/Colorado in the United States.)

Almost twenty years ago I bought some robots and taught myself to program them. I started a website called home-robot.com that documented my experiments. My most sophisticated robot was based on a “Cye” from a now defunct company called “Probotics”. A friend helped me add a weird head, some additional sensors, and a two way radio connected to my PC. (This allowed me to send text-to-speech through the PC to the robot.)

I named my new robot “Cybert” and I gave him a variety of sensor-driven moods. I also created a bunch of subsumptive behaviors: exploration, docking with his charger, playing with the dogs, etc. My best behavior was called “alarm clock” and it worked like this: